Skip to content
CampusAtlas

Essex County College

Newark, NJ 07102City: LargeUNITID 184481

Public 2-yearAssociate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Career & Technical-High TraditionalHispanic-servingPredominantly BlackSpecialty: Health Professions 25%Specialty: Business 23%Specialty: Liberal Arts 18%
Undergraduates
5,855
Graduate students
Not reported
Admit rate
Not reported
Average net price
$4.4k
Graduation rate
20%
Retention rate
56%
Median earnings (10 yr)
$37.2k
Median debt
Not reported
Student : faculty
26:1
Value score*
94th pct.
Programs offered
45
Highest degree
Associate degree
Sector
Public 2-year
Region
Northeast · Middle Atlantic
Setting
City: Large (population of 250,000 or more)
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Career & Technical-High Traditional
Size & setting
Two-year, medium
Predominant degree
Predominantly associate's-degree granting
Religious affiliation
None reported
Main campus
Yes

* Value score is a CampusAtlas estimate, not an official metric.

Similar schools

Nearest neighbors on size, selectivity, net price, sector, region and program mix (CampusAtlas estimate).

Public 2-year
Undergrads
5,964
Admit rate
Not reported
Net price
$4.5k
Grad rate
16%
  • Specialty: Liberal Arts 28%
  • Specialty: Health Professions 23%
  • Specialty: Business 10%
Public 2-year
Undergrads
5,404
Admit rate
Not reported
Net price
$5.3k
Grad rate
25%
  • Hispanic-serving
  • Specialty: Health Professions 25%
  • Specialty: Liberal Arts 22%
Public 2-year
Undergrads
5,412
Admit rate
Not reported
Net price
$2.6k
Grad rate
23%
  • AANAPI-serving
  • Specialty: Liberal Arts 22%
  • Specialty: Health Professions 21%
Public 2-year
Undergrads
6,083
Admit rate
Not reported
Net price
$5.5k
Grad rate
22%
  • Specialty: Liberal Arts 31%
  • Specialty: Health Professions 20%
  • Specialty: Business 11%
Public 2-year
Undergrads
7,670
Admit rate
Not reported
Net price
$5.6k
Grad rate
28%
  • Hispanic-serving
  • AANAPI-serving
  • Specialty: Liberal Arts 26%
Public 2-year
Undergrads
8,940
Admit rate
Not reported
Net price
$4.5k
Grad rate
24%
  • Hispanic-serving
  • AANAPI-serving
  • Specialty: Health Professions 24%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, data as of June 10, 2026. “Not reported” means the value is missing or privacy-suppressed in the source data.