Skip to content
CampusAtlas

University of Virginia-Main Campus

Charlottesville, VA 22903Suburb: MidsizeUNITID 234076

Public 4-yearDoctoral Universities: Very High Research ActivitySpecialty: Social Sciences 13%Specialty: Computer Science 12%Specialty: Liberal Arts 11%
Undergraduates
17,597
Graduate students
8,524
Admit rate
17%
Average net price
$21.6k
Graduation rate
96%
Retention rate
98%
Median earnings (10 yr)
$86.9k
Median debt
$17.5k
Student : faculty
15:1
Value score*
75th pct.
Programs offered
222
Highest degree
Graduate degree
Sector
Public 4-year
Region
South · South Atlantic
Setting
Suburb: Midsize (outside principal city, in urbanized area with population of at least 100,000 but less than 250,000)
Carnegie
Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity
Size & setting
Four-year, large, primarily residential
Predominant degree
Predominantly bachelor's-degree granting
Religious affiliation
None reported
Main campus
Yes

* Value score is a CampusAtlas estimate, not an official metric.

Similar schools

Nearest neighbors on size, selectivity, net price, sector, region and program mix (CampusAtlas estimate).

Public 4-year
Undergrads
42.9k
Admit rate
27%
Net price
$19.9k
Grad rate
89%
  • Specialty: Interdisciplinary Studies 14%
  • Specialty: Engineering 10%

William & Mary

Williamsburg, VA

Public 4-year
Undergrads
7,055
Admit rate
34%
Net price
$19.1k
Grad rate
89%
  • Specialty: Social Sciences 20%
  • Specialty: Business 13%
  • Specialty: Biology 12%
Public 4-year
Undergrads
4,474
Admit rate
9%
Net price
Not reported
Grad rate
93%
  • Specialty: Engineering 38%
  • Specialty: Social Sciences 18%
  • Specialty: Physical Sciences 11%
Public 4-year
Undergrads
32.2k
Admit rate
24%
Net price
$11.3k
Grad rate
86%
  • Specialty: Business 25%
  • Specialty: Social Sciences 13%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, data as of June 10, 2026. “Not reported” means the value is missing or privacy-suppressed in the source data.