Skip to content
CampusAtlas

Montana State University Billings

Billings, MT 59101City: MidsizeUNITID 180179

Public 4-yearMaster's Colleges & Universities: Medium ProgramsSpecialty: Health Professions 23%Specialty: Business 21%
Undergraduates
2,626
Graduate students
248
Admit rate
Not reported
Average net price
$16.5k
Graduation rate
30%
Retention rate
56%
Median earnings (10 yr)
$44.3k
Median debt
$18.2k
Student : faculty
14:1
Value score*
53th pct.
Programs offered
73
Highest degree
Graduate degree
Sector
Public 4-year
Region
West · Mountain
Setting
City: Midsize (population of at least 100,000 but less than 250,000)
Carnegie
Master's Colleges & Universities: Medium Programs
Size & setting
Four-year, small, primarily nonresidential
Predominant degree
Predominantly bachelor's-degree granting
Religious affiliation
None reported
Main campus
Yes

* Value score is a CampusAtlas estimate, not an official metric.

Similar schools

Nearest neighbors on size, selectivity, net price, sector, region and program mix (CampusAtlas estimate).

Public 4-year
Undergrads
1,451
Admit rate
Not reported
Net price
$14.8k
Grad rate
26%
  • Hispanic-serving
  • Specialty: Health Professions 29%
  • Specialty: Education 27%
Public 4-year
Undergrads
3,619
Admit rate
Not reported
Net price
$12k
Grad rate
31%
  • Hispanic-serving
  • Specialty: Health Professions 30%
  • Specialty: Business 19%
Public 4-year
Undergrads
7,212
Admit rate
Not reported
Net price
$15.3k
Grad rate
30%
  • Specialty: Health Professions 21%
  • Specialty: Liberal Arts 15%
  • Specialty: Business 13%
Public 4-year
Undergrads
2,892
Admit rate
95%
Net price
$15.7k
Grad rate
54%
  • Specialty: Health Professions 44%
  • Specialty: Engineering 19%
  • Specialty: Engineering Technology 12%
Public 4-year
Undergrads
2,657
Admit rate
Not reported
Net price
$15.3k
Grad rate
29%
  • Native American-serving
  • Specialty: Business 26%
  • Specialty: Health Professions 23%
Public 4-year
Undergrads
2,385
Admit rate
88%
Net price
$15.6k
Grad rate
40%
  • Specialty: Health Professions 33%
  • Specialty: Business 15%
  • Specialty: Liberal Arts 12%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, data as of June 10, 2026. “Not reported” means the value is missing or privacy-suppressed in the source data.