Skip to content
CampusAtlas

Mountain Empire Community College

Big Stone Gap, VA 24219Town: DistantUNITID 232788

Public 2-yearAssociate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Career & Technical-High NontraditionalSpecialty: Liberal Arts 27%Specialty: Health Professions 27%Specialty: Engineering Technology 16%
Undergraduates
1,282
Graduate students
Not reported
Admit rate
Not reported
Average net price
$8.9k
Graduation rate
48%
Retention rate
64%
Median earnings (10 yr)
$32.6k
Median debt
Not reported
Student : faculty
22:1
Value score*
71th pct.
Programs offered
41
Highest degree
Associate degree
Sector
Public 2-year
Region
South · South Atlantic
Setting
Town: Distant (in urban cluster more than 10 miles and up to 35 miles from an urbanized area)
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Career & Technical-High Nontraditional
Size & setting
Two-year, small
Predominant degree
Predominantly certificate-degree granting
Religious affiliation
None reported
Main campus
Yes

* Value score is a CampusAtlas estimate, not an official metric.

Similar schools

Nearest neighbors on size, selectivity, net price, sector, region and program mix (CampusAtlas estimate).

Public 2-year
Undergrads
1,306
Admit rate
Not reported
Net price
$6.7k
Grad rate
39%
  • Specialty: Health Professions 24%
  • Specialty: Liberal Arts 22%
  • Specialty: Engineering Technology 16%

Texarkana College

Texarkana, TX

Public 2-year
Undergrads
1,502
Admit rate
Not reported
Net price
$8.8k
Grad rate
47%
  • Specialty: Liberal Arts 27%
  • Specialty: Health Professions 16%
  • Specialty: Mechanic & Repair 15%
Public 2-year
Undergrads
1,030
Admit rate
Not reported
Net price
$9.6k
Grad rate
23%
  • Native American-serving
  • Specialty: Liberal Arts 33%
  • Specialty: Health Professions 22%
Public 2-year
Undergrads
1,211
Admit rate
Not reported
Net price
$9k
Grad rate
40%
  • Specialty: Liberal Arts 37%
  • Specialty: Health Professions 14%

Cecil College

North East, MD

Public 2-year
Undergrads
1,363
Admit rate
Not reported
Net price
$9.7k
Grad rate
37%
  • Specialty: Liberal Arts 27%
  • Specialty: Health Professions 22%
  • Specialty: Business 13%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, data as of June 10, 2026. “Not reported” means the value is missing or privacy-suppressed in the source data.